Home    Library    Multimedia    Calendar    Projects    
հայերեն  русский    


Liturgical Calendar of Armenian Apostolic Church

(Daily Worship App)

First version presented the names of calendar days together with daily Scripture readings (English text from King James Version). Second version contains Service of the Hours with brief commentary on every Hour. The new release (2.6) contains an explanation of the fast days and most important feasts. The basis for these explanation served some of the articles from the print edition “Children’s Encyclopedia of Armenian Christianity” (Diocese of the Armenian Church of America, 2001), which in the electronic version significantly changed in accordance with the new task.


In the beginning of the Armenian Common Prayer book, before the prayers of the nine daily offices, the full text of the Armenian Church Creed and the text of the confessions of sins are placed․ The first of these is preceded by the text of the “rite of renunciation of Satan”, while the second text, “the confession of sins”, is followed by the text of the “remission of sins”. In the supplemental material on original texts, are presented their new English translations and brief commentaries.

Liturgy of the Hours or daily Church worship is divided into hourly services each of which has a specific theological and practical significance.

The Book of Hours of the Armenian Church is comprised of nine daily services - Midnight Time (Matins), Morning Time (Lauds), Sunrise Time (Prime), Third Hour (Terce), Sixth Hour (Sext), Ninth Hour (None). Last three are referred to as Daytime Prayers. They are followed by Evening Time (Vespers), Peace Time and Night Time (Compline).

In the past these services were held at corresponding times of the day. This schedule was enforced especially strictly in convents. Later the services were combined - Midnight, Morning and Sunrise services were held successively in the morning, followed by the three Daytime services at noon, and by Evening, Peace and Night services in the afternoon. Today only Midnight, Morning and Evening Time services are held - first two in the morning followed by Evening Time service in the afternoon. The tradition of holding three combined services during the day is partially restored during the Great Lent.

The current release of the Book of Hours is based on the calendar by Catholicos Simeon Yerevantsi (publ. in 1774). The calendar reflects the tradition of worship of the Armenian Church from late medieval period to the beginning of last century. According to it, the services are held on all calendar days with the exception of Lord's days (when Sunrise Time and Peace Time are interrupted), Saturdays and evenings before Lord's feasts (when Peace Time is discounted).

Liturgy of the Hours may be supplemented on special feast days with hymns and prayers, sometimes as part of day's liturgy, other times complementing the liturgy with additional hymns, yet other times being abbreviated. The services of such special feast days are presented in a slightly differing catalog.

With the exception of Sunrise, Peace and Night Time services certain sections change depending on day's meaning. Same principle is applied when selecting daily readings from Bible and Sharaknots (Book of Hymns). In this release Bible readings are presented as reference only (since the text is available in Daily Readings section with matching translations). Excerpts from Sharaknots are, for now, presented with openings only.

The Holy Mass, part of daily liturgy, may be held on any day except during the regular days of the Great Lent. This release presents the special Holy Mass days - including all Sundays, notable feast and commemoration days along with day's liturgical rules.

The Book of Hours is presented in Old Armenian language (Grabar); however, supplemental material (which currently contains brief explanations of each service) will be gradually expanded and filled with translations and commentaries.

Click here to download via iTunes
Click here to download via Google Play